YUSEF LATEEF - Part Of The Search

Yusef Lateef was born in Chattanooga, Tennessee, and grew up in Detroit. He began playing on alto sax & moved to tenor while still in high school at 17 years of age in 1937. He played with Lucky Millinder (1946), Hot Lips Page, Roy Eldridge and Dizzy Gillespie's big band (1949-50). Yusef Lateef has long had an inquisitive spirit and he was never just a bop or hard bop soloist. He does not care much for the name "jazz", and has consistently created music that has stretched (and even broke through) boundaries. A superior tenor-saxophonist with a soulful sound and impressive technique, Lateef was a fixture on the Detroit jazz scene of the 1950s where he studied flute at Wayne State University. Lateef began recording as a leader in 1955, and moved to New York in 1959. By then he already had a strong reputation for his versatility and for his willingness to utilize miscellaneous instruments. Lateef played with Charles Mingus in 1960, gigged with Donald Byrd and was well-featured with the Cannonball Adderley Sextet (1962-64). Yusef Lateef's Atlantic albums tended to be erratic affairs with plenty of chances taken and the overall results being a mixed success. This LP, titled PART OF THE SEARCH is one of his better efforts from the era. Lateef, doubling on tenor and alto this time, is backed not only by his trio (Kenny Barron; Robert Cunningham; & Albert Kuumba "Tootie" Heath); but also a big band, string quartet, three background vocalists and a variety of electric keyboardists and guitarists. There are enough good tracks (particularly "Lunceford Prance," "Rockhouse" and "I'm Gettin' Sentimental Over You") to make this a release worth checking out. Arranged by Doug Sahm, the Texas Tornado best known for the Sir Douglas Quintet, who also helps out on guitar, along with Augie Meyers, organ; Joe Newman, trumpet; Alexander Gafa, guitar; Emanuel Green, violin; and many many others. Produced by Joel Dorn, the selections (with times) are: K.C. Shuffle- 3:52; Oatsy Doatsy- :41; Soul's Bakery- 2:26; Lunceford Prance- 3:25; Rock House (Ray Charles)- 3:40; Oatsy Doatsy- :16; In The Still Of The Night (a hit for Freddy Parris & The Five Satins)- 3:30; Superfine- 3:20; Strange Lullaby- 4:12; Big Bass Drum- 2:55; Gettin' Sentimental- 9:50. This is an original early 1974 pressing on ATLANTIC RECORDS (SD-1650), and appears in overall Excellent condition!